Online talks & Live-Streamed Walks

I’m running a series of online talks about all things Rome using Zoom meeting. All talks are c. 50 minutes, followed by as many questions as anyone would like. Times listed are Rome time. I’ll send the link to access the virtual room on the day of the talk. The cost is €15 per person, €65 if you pre-book 5 talks.

I announce subjects and dates for the following month in the last week of each month via my free (and mercifully short) newsletter please subscribe!

Private talks and live-streamed walks for as many or as few people as you like can be arranged on request on any Rome-related subject you like. Long distance family get-togethers, talks for children, birthday events, whatever you like and about anything you like with as many questions during and afterwards as you can think of!

Please email info@understandingrome.com for bookings and requests.

_____________________________

OCTOBER 2021

Domus Aurea: The Golden House of Nero, and the discovery of the grotteschi

Wed 13 Oct, Sat 16 Oct at 7pm CEST (6pm BST, 1pm EDT), Tues 19 Oct 11am CEST (10am BST, 8pm AEDT)

Heavens Above! Roman Baroque Ceilings

Wed 27 Oct, Sat 30 Oct at 7pm CEST (6pm BST, 1pm EDT), Tues 2 Nov 11am CET (10am GMT, 9pm AEDT)

_____________________________

SEPTEMBER 2021

LIVE ONSITE ONLINE TOUR via Zoom webinar. Porta Pia to the Quartiere Coppedè. One hour. Q&A via the chat function. €25 per screen connection. Friday 17th Sept, 6pm CEST, 5pm BST, noon EDT, 9am PDT

The Capitoline Museums: The World’s Oldest Public Museum

Wed 8 Sept, Sat 11 Sept at 7pm CEST (6pm BST, 1pm EDT), Tues 14 Sept at 11am CEST (10am BST, 7pm AEST)

150 Years of Roma Capitale: How Rome became the capital of Italy

Wed 22 Sept, Sat 25 Sept at 7pm CEST (6pm BST, 1pm EDT), Tues 28 Sept at 11am CEST (10am BST, 7pm AEST)

____________________________

JULY 2021

Time and the Baroque: the Tempo Barocco exhibition at Palazzo Barberini

Wed 21 July, Sat 24 July at 7pm CEST (6pm BST, 1pm EDT), Tues 27 July at 11am CEST (10am BST, 7pm AEST)

JUNE 2021

LIVE ONSITE ONLINE TOUR via Zoom webinar. From Santa Croce in Gerusalemme via Porta Maggiore to Pigneto. One hour. Q&A via the chat function. €25 per screen connection. Friday 11 June, 6pm CET, 5pm BST, noon EDT, 9am PDT.

ONLINE TALKS via Zoom meeting, 50 minutes plus Q&A €15 per person

Rione Monti and the Ancient Subura

Wed 2 June, Sat 5 June at 7pm CEST (6pm BST, 1pm EDT), Tues 8 June at 11am CEST (10am BST, 7pm AEDT)

Rome on Film: From the Bicycle Thieves to La Grande Bellezza

Wed 9 June, Sat 12 June at 7pm CEST (6pm BST, 1pm EDT), Tues 15 June at 11am CEST (10am BST, 7pm AEDT)

The Rome of Marcus Aurelius, the Philosopher Emperor (NB there’s a break of ten days between the Wed and the Sat, I’m taking a week’s holiday).

Wed 16 June, Sat 26 June at 7pm CEST (6pm BST, 1pm EDT), Tues 29 June at 11am CEST (10am BST, 7pm AEDT)

From Porta Pia to Porta Portese: A Walk along the Aurelian Walls Part 2 (Part 1 was back in October and a recording is available upon request, though it’s not necessary to have seen part 1 to join part 2).

Wed 30 June, Sat 3 July at 7pm CEST (6pm BST, 1pm EDT), Tues 6 July at 11am CEST (10am BST, 7pm AEDT)

MAY 2021

LIVE ONSITE ONLINE TOUR via Zoom webinar. Hadrian’s Villa at Tivoli. One hour. Q&A via the chat function. €25 per screen connection. Friday 7 May, 4pm CET, 3pm BST, 10am EDT, 7am PDT.

ONLINE TALKS via Zoom meeting, 50 minutes plus Q&A €15 per person

Giovanni Battista Piranesi: Capricci e Carceri.

Wed 5 May, Sat 8 May at 7pm CEST (6pm BST, 1pm EDT), Tues 11 May at 11am CEST (10am BST, 7pm AEDT)

The Papal Basilica of San Paolo fuori le Mura

Wed 12 May, Sat 15 May at 7pm CEST (6pm BST, 1pm EDT), Tues 18 May at 11am CEST (10am BST, 7pm AEDT)

Garbatella: A Garden City in Rome

Wed 19 May, Sat 22 May at 7pm CEST (6pm BST, 1pm EDT), Tues 25 May at 11am CEST (10am BST, 7pm AEDT)

Studied Solecisms: Mannerist Architecture in Rome

Wed 26 May, Sat 29 May at 7pm CEST (6pm BST, 1pm EDT), Tues 1 June at 11am CEST (10am BST, 7pm AEDT)

APRIL/MAY 2021

LIVE ONSITE ONLINE TOUR with RACHEL RODDY via Zoom webinar. The first of a series looking at Roman ingredients in an historical context. BEEF: From the Forum Boarium to Testaccio. One and a half hours plus Q&A via the chat function. €30 per screen connection. Friday 23 April, 5pm CET, 4pm UK & RoI, 11am EDT, 8am PDT.

LIVE ONSITE ONLINE TOUR via Zoom webinar. One hour plus Q&A via the chat function. €25 per screen connection. Over the Caelian Hill to the Colosseum. Good Friday 2 April, 5pm CET, 4pm BST, 11am EDT, 8am PDT, 2am AEST,

ONLINE TALKS via Zoom meeting, 50 minutes plus Q&A €15 per person

The Sacred Cave: The Monastery of St Benedict at Subiaco

Wed 31 Mar, Sat 3 Apr at 7pm CET (6pm GMT, 1pm ET), Wed 7 Apr at 11am CET (10am GMT, 7pm AEST) [NB for this week only the morning talk will be on Wednesday, not Tuesday]

A Wander Across the Caelian Hill

Wed 7 Apr, Sat 10 Apr at 7pm CET (6pm GMT, 1pm ET), Tue 13 Apr at 11am CET (10am GMT, 7pm AEST)

Cosmati Work and the Conservation of Matter

Wed 14 Apr, Sat 17 Apr at 7pm CET (6pm GMT, 1pm ET), Tue 20 Apr at 11am CET (10am GMT, 9pm AEST)

The District of San Lorenzo

Wed 21 Apr, Sat 24 Apr at 7pm CET (6pm GMT, 1pm ET), Mon 27 Apr at 11am CET (10am GMT, 7pm AEST) [NB for this week only the morning talk will be on Monday, not Tuesday]

Palimpsest at the Theatre of Marcellus: The History of the City in One Building

Wed 28 Apr, Sat 1 May at 7pm CET (6pm BST, 1pm EDT), Tue 4 May at 11am CET (10am BST, 7pm AEDT)

MARCH 2021

LIVE ONSITE ONLINE TOUR via Zoom webinar. One hour plus Q&A via the chat function. €25 per screen connection. Ostia Antica. 5 March, 4pm CET

ONLINE TALKS via Zoom meeting, 50 minutes plus Q&A €15 per person

The Tragic Tale of John Keats

Wed 3 Mar, Sat 6 Mar at 7pm CET (6pm GMT, 1pm ET), Tue 9 Mar at 11am CET (10am GMT, 9pm AET)

The Basilica of the Snows: Santa Maria Maggiore

Wed 10 Mar, Sat 13 Mar at 7pm CET (6pm GMT, 1pm ET), Tue 16 Mar at 11am CET (10am GMT, 9pm AET)

Pigneto: Pasolini meets Piranesi

Wed 17 Mar, Sat 20 Mar at 7pm CET (6pm GMT, 2pm ET), Tue 23 Mar at 11am CET (10am GMT, 9pm AET)

Pinturicchio and Alexander VI: The Borgia Apartments in the Vatican Palace

Wed 24 Mar, Sat 27 Mar at 7pm CET (6pm GMT, 2pm ET), Tue 30 Mar at 11am CET (10am GMT, 9pm AET)

JANUARY/FEBRUARY 2021

Pharaonic Ambition: Obelisks in Rome

Wed 27 Jan, Sat 30 Jan at 7pm CET, Tue 2 Feb at 11am CET

Amphorae and Abattoirs: Testaccio from ancient port to the engine room of Roma Capitale

Wed 3 Feb, Sat 6 Feb at 7pm CET, Tue 9 Feb at 11am CET

“But lo! The dome”: Saint Peter’s Basilica in the Vatican.

Wed 10 Feb, Sat 13 Feb at 7pm CET, Tue 16 Feb at 11am CET

The Complex of Sant’Agnese fuori le Mura and Santa Constanza on the via Nomentana

Wed 17 Feb, Sat 20 Feb at 7pm CET, Tue 23 Feb at 11am CET

The Minerva of the North: Queen Christina of Sweden

Wed 24 Feb, Sat 27 Feb at 7pm CET, Tue 2 Mar at 11am CET

_____________________________

LIVE ONSITE ONLINE TOUR via Zoom webinar. One hour plus Q&A via the chat function. €25 per screen connection. From piazza del Popolo via piazza di Spagna to the Mausoleum of Augustus.

Friday 22 January 2020 at 4pm CET (3pm GMT, 10am ET, 7am PT)

LIVE ONSITE ONLINE TOUR via Zoom webinar. One hour plus Q&A via the chat function. €25 per screen connection. From Santa Cecilia in Trastevere to the Jewish Quarter and the Southern Reaches of the Field of Mars.

Tuesday 29 December 2020 at 3.30pm CET (2.30pm GMT, 9.30am ET, 6.30am PT)

______________________________

ONLINE TALKS via Zoom meeting, 50 minutes plus Q&A €15 per person

Machiavelli and the Borgias

Wed 30 Dec, Sat 2 Jan at 7pm CET, Tue 5 Jan at 11am CET

Roman Frescoes in and around Rome

Wed 6, Sat 9 Jan at 7pm CET, Tue 12 Jan at 11am CET

Rome’s Cathedral: the Complex of St John in Lateran

Wed 13 Jan, Sat 16 Jan at 7pm CET, Tue 19 Jan at 11am CET

All Roads Lead to Rome: Pilgrims and Pilgrimages in the Urbe

Wed 20 Jan, Sat 23 Jan at 7pm CET, Tue at 26 Jan at 11am CET

___________________________

DECEMBER 2020

ONLINE TALKS via Zoom meeting, 50 minutes plus Q&A €15 per person

Gianlorenzo Bernini: Sculptor in Rome, Part II

Wed 2, Sat 5 Dec at 7pm CET, Tues 8 Dec at 11am CET

Nemi and the Extraordinary Tale of Caligula’s Ships

Wed 9, Sat 12 Dec at 7pm CET, Tues 15 Dec at 11am CET

The Torlonia Marbles: Collecting Masterpieces

Wed 16, Sat 19 Dec at 7pm CET, Tues 22 Dec at 11am CET

*CHRISTMAS SPECIAL*: A Christmas Card from Rome: A 30 min online talk via Zoom webinar, plus questions via chat. Suitable for both children and adults. Featuring nativity scenes, and general festivity. €15 per screen connection.

Wed 23 at 8pm CET

NOVEMBER 2020

LIVE ONSITE ONLINE TOURS via Zoom webinar. one hour plus Q&A. €25 per screen.

Friday 20th Nov 9am CET, Field of Mars

Friday 20th Nov 3.30pm CET, From the Janiculum down through Trastevere.

TESTACCIO COCCI E CASTAGNE with Rachel Roddy. One and half hours including Q&A, €30 per screen.

Thursday 19th Nov 3.30pm CET

LIVE ONSITE ONLINE TOUR of the Field of Mars via Zoom webinar. one hour plus Q&A. €25 per screen.

Thursday 5th Nov 4pm CET

______________

ONLINE TALKS via Zoom meeting, 50 minutes plus Q&A €15 per person

Sulla and the Fall of the Roman Republic

Wed 4 Nov, Sat 7 Nov at 7pm CET & Tues 10 Nov at 11am CET

Gianlorenzo Bernini: Sculptor in Rome, Part I

Wed 11, Sat 14 Nov at 7pm CET & Tues 17 Nov at 11am CET

A Walk along the Appian Way

Wed 18, Sat 21 Nov at 7pm CET & Tues 24 Nov at 11am CET

Beyond the Vatican: Raphael in Rome

Wed 25, Sat 28 Nov at 7pm CET & Tues 1 Dec at 11am CET

OCTOBER/NOVEMBER 2020

Sunday 11th Oct, 4pm CET. Live onsite online tour of the Palatine Hill and the Roman Forum. 1 hour plus Q&A. €25 per screen.

The Sistine Chapel

Thursday 22nd Oct at 11am CET

The Raphael Rooms

Thursday 29th Oct at 11am CET

Villa D’Este at Tivoli: Tiburtine otium, reborn

Wed 30 Sept, Sat 3 Oct at 7pm CET & Tues 6 Oct at 11am CET

Caravaggio in Rome

Wed 7 Oct, Sat 10 Oct at 7pm CET & Tues 13 Oct at 11am CET

Field of Mars, Part 2: The Renaissance and the Baroque

Wed 14 Oct, Sat 17 Oct at 7pm CET & Tues 20 Oct at 11am CET

Etruscan Places: the Banditaccia Necropolis at Cerveteri

Wed 21 Oct, Sat 24 Oct at 7pm CET & Tues 27 Oct at 11am CET

“One Thing Too Many”: A Walk along the Aurelian Walls

Wed 28 Oct, Sat 31 Oct at 7pm CET & Tues 3 Nov at 11am CET

SEPTEMBER 2020

Rus in Urbe: Exploring the Palatine Hill

Wed 2 Sept, Sat 5 Sept at 7pm CET & Tues 8 Sept at 11am

Hadrian’s Villa at Tivoli

Wed 9 Sept, Sat 12 Sept at 7pm CET & Tues 15 Sept at 11am

Temples and Fountains; Cobbles and Churches: A walk through the Field of Mars

Wed 16 Sept, Sat 19 Sept at 7pm CET & Tues 22 Sept at 11am CET

The Mystery Cult: Mithras and Mithraism in Rome

Wed 23 Sept, Sat 26 Sept at 7pm CET & Tues 29 Sept at 11am CET

REPEATED TALKS:

Exploring the Roman Forum

9 Sept 8.30pm CET

The Raphael Rooms

16 Sept 8.30pm CET

The Sistine Chapel

23 Sept 8.30pm CET

______________________________________

JULY 2020

A wander through the Jewish Ghetto

Wed 1 July, Sat 4 July at 7pm CET & Tues 7th July at 11am CET

Exploring Trastevere

Wed 8 July, Sat 11 July at 7pm CET & Tues 14th at 11am CET

Borromini, Bernini, and the Baroque: Breaking Rules and Squeezing Pediments

Wed 29 July, Sat 1 Aug at 7pm CET & Tues 4th at 11am CET

AUGUST 2020

Ostia Antica: Daily Life in the port of Rome

Wed 5 Aug, Sat 8 Aug at 7pm CET & Tues 11th at 11am CET

REPEATED TALKS

Exploring the Roman Forum

Wed 1 July 8.30pm CET

The Raphael Rooms in the Vatican Palace

Wed 8 July 8.30pm CET

JUNE 2020

Constantinan Rome : Rome on the cusp of Christendom

Tues 2 June 11am CET (also 27, 28, 30 May at 7pm CET)

The Roman-ness of Christian Art: a look at medieval church mosaics

Wed 3 June, Sat 6 June at 7pm CET & Tues 9th at 11am CET (GMT+2)

Fortresses of Medieval Rome

Wed 10 June, Sat 13 June at 7pm CET & Tues 16th at 11am CET (GMT+2)

Roman Fever: epidemics and the Urbe

Wed 17 June, Sat 20th June at 7pm CET & Tues 23rd at 11am CET (GMT+2)

“The Third Rome”: Architecture as Propaganda in the Fascist Era.

Wed 24 June, Sat 27 June at 7pm CET & Mon 29th at 11am CET (GMT+2)

The Sistine Chapel: Perugino, Michelangelo, and the Popes’ Chapel.

Thurs 4 June 7pm CET

Raphael and the Antique: a look at part of the major exhibition at the Scuderie del Quirinale to commemorate the 500th anniversary of Raphael’s death.

Fri 12 June 7pm CET & Wed 17 June 8.30pm CET

Child-friendly Ancient Rome talk

A 30 minute talk about Daily Life in Ancient Rome, plus questions. €10 per child, as many accompanying adults as you like are free. Maximum 10 children.

Thurs 4 June at 6pm CET (GMT+2, 5pm UK time, noon ET)

______________________________

MAY 2020

Ancient Rome PM

Salt, the She Wolf, and Spin : stories of Rome’s origins

Wed 6, Thurs 7, Sat 9 May 7pm, & Tues 12 May 11am CET (GMT+2)

Roads, Boats, and Aqueducts : The infrastructure of ancient Rome

Wed 13, Thurs 14, Sat 16 May 7pm CET (GMT+2)

Exploring the Roman Forum

Wed 20, Thurs 21, Sat 23 7pm CET (GMT+2)

Constantinian Rome : a city on the cusp of Christendom

Wed 27, Thurs 28, Sat 30 May 7pm CET (GMT+2)

Ancient Rome AM

Roads, Boats, and Aqueducts : The infrastructure of ancient Rome

Tue 19 May 11am CET (GMT+2)

Exploring the Roman Forum

Tue 26 May 11am CET (GMT+2)

Constantinian Rome : a city on the cusp of Christendom

Tue 2 June 11am CET (GMT+2)

Child-friendly Ancient Rome talk

Thurs 21st May at 6pm CET (GMT+2, 5pm UK time, noon ET)

A talk about the legends of Rome’s foundation suitable for c. 10-13 year olds lasting 30 minutes plus questions and costing €10 each for a group of no more than 10 people.

High Renaissance

At the same time I will be running a couple of talks looking at the triumphant art of the High Renaissance at the Vatican Palaces.

The Sistine Chapel

Tues 12th, 19th May 7pm CET (GMT+2)

The Raphael Rooms : Julius II, Leo X, and the Papal Apartments.

Fri 22nd, 29th May 7pm CET (GMT+2)


If you’d like to join, have any further questions, would be interested in a talk about something else, or would be interested but can’t manage a particular time please drop me an email at info@understandingrome.com. Private talks about anything Rome-related can be prepared on request.